Prizes, grants and honours 2013

Monalisa Goswami wins 2nd prize in Very Short Introductions contest

Monalisa Goswami

HIMS researcher Monalisa Goswami finished as runner-up in the Very Short Introductions Competition 2013 of the SPUI25 academic-cultural centre in Amsterdam.

Nicole Franssen wins DPI Golden Thesis Award

Nicole Franssen with DPI Golden Thesis Award

UvA alumnus chemist Nicole Franssen has been awarded the Dutch Polymer Institute's (DPI) Golden Thesis Award 2013. This award was presented to her at the DPI annual meeting on Tuesday, 5 November.

Helias Andriessen nominated for TEDxAmsterdam Award 2013


Helias Andriessen, master student at the research group Heterogeneous Catalysis and Sustainable Chemistry of Prof. Gadi Rothenberg and winner of the 2013 Amsterdam Sustainable Research Award for Young Scientists of the University of Amsterdam, presented his pitch on 11 October for a place in the final of the TEDxAmsterdam Award 2013 on 6 November, and became one of the 10 finalists.

Chemist Linde Smeenk receives Stufkens Prijs for protein mimicry


Linde Smeenk

The Dick Stufkens Prijs 2013 is awarded to Dr. Linde Smeenk for her Ph.D. thesis ‘Double-CLIPS Technology for the Mimicry of Structurally Complex Antibody Binding Sites on Proteins’. The prize is annually awarded to the best thesis of a Ph.D. student belonging to the Holland Research School of Molecular Chemistry (HRSMC). It will be presented to Linde Smeenk at the annual HRSMC symposium on 21 November.

Prestigious Eni prize for UvA chemistry professor R. Krishna

Award in 'New Frontiers of Hydrocarbons' presented by Italian president Giorgio Napolitano

Professor Rajamani Krishna of the van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (University of Amsterdam) has been awarded a prestigious Eni award for his research into fundamental aspects of gas separation and purification. The prize will be presented to him Thursday June 27 in Rome by Italian president Giorgio Napolitano. The award consists of a gold medal and a sum of 200,000 Euros.


Joost Reek elected new member of the KMWH

Professor Joost Reek of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences at the University of Amsterdam has been elected as a new member of the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen, KHMW).


STW grant for HIMS scientists

 STW has awarded a grant to Jan van Maarseveen, Peter Timmerman and Henk Hiemstra for the project entitled “Multicyclic CLIPS-peptides: Next Generation Therapeutic Peptide Drugs” comprising two Ph.D. students and new HPLC equipment.

Multicyclic CLIPS-peptides

NWO ECHO project subsidy for HIMS scientists

NWO has awarded Sander Woutersen and Wybren Jan Buma, staff members of the Molecular Photonics group of HIMS, an ECHO grant for a proposal concerning optically amplified vibrational circular dichroism.

Nomination AVS Fellow of the Society

Prof Dr Aart W. Kleijn has been elected to the 2013 class of AVS (American Vacuum Society) Fellows. The 2013 AVS Fellows will be honoured during the AVS Awards Ceremony on Wednesday evening, October 30, 2013 during the 60th Annual AVS International Symposium and Exhibition in Long Beach, CA.

ZonMw grant for Institute Quantivision


1,5 million Euro for development and improvement of medical imaging



Lecturer of the Year 2012 Award for Jan van Maarseveen


Chemist Jan van Maarseveen was awarded the Lecturer of the Year 2012 prize during UvA's Dies Natalis celebration on 8 December 2013.

Published by  HIMS

12 April 2017