Prizes, grants and honours 2017

Fleur Van Beek presents iCARe project

Young Scientist Challenge prize for iCARe project led by Fleur Van Beek

At the Forum for Analytical Science and Technology (FAST) held 16-17 May in Veldhoven, the iCARE project led by PhD student Fleur van Beek of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS) was awarded 5600 euros, to be used for a feasibility study.

Tiddo Mooibroek nominated for New Scientist talent award

Chemist Tiddo Mooibroek of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS) is among the 25 young scientists nominated for the 2017 'Wetenschapstalent' award of the Dutch edition of New Scientist. After scrutiny by a jury and a public vote the winner will be announced by Nobel laureate Ben Feringa on 22 June.

Chemistry PhD student Joen Hermans graduates cum laude

On Tuesday 9 May 2017 Joen Hermans of the research group Computational Polymer Chemistry and Science for Arts successfully defended his thesis ‘Metal Soaps in Oil Paint – Structure, Mechanisms and Dynamics’. Because of his pioneering work in the multidisciplinary area of art related research, combined with his high productivity, Hermans was granted the distinction 'Cum Laude'.

Prof Gert-Jan Gruter, professor Industrial Sustainable Chemistry

UvA professor Gert-Jan Gruter finalist in European Inventor Award

Gert-Jan Gruter, professor by special appointment of Industrial Sustainable Chemistry at the UvA, has been nominated for European Patent Office (EPO) prize for his invention in the field of bioplastics

Gaston Richelle

Gaston Richelle wins a SciFinder Future Leaders Award

PhD student Gaston Richelle of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences has been selected by the American Chemical Society as one of the SciFinder Future Leaders of 2017.

R.M. Williams

René Williams is 'Outstanding Reviewer'

Dr René Williams of the Molecular Photonics research group at the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS) has been recognized as one of ten 'Outstanding Reviewers' of 2016 for Photochemical & Photobiological Sciences, a publication of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK).


Colet te Grotenhuis runner up in best lecture competition

At the Dutch national catalysis conference NCCC held 6-8 March in Noordwijkerhout, PhD student Colet te Grotenhuis of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences finished second in the best lecture competition sponsored by graduate school NIOK. Colet won 250 euros and a certificate.

Famelab logo

Joen Hermans one of the winners of FameLab Amsterdam

A professional jury of scientists and science communication professionals chose UvA PhD candidates Tjitske van Engelen and Joen Hermans as the winners of the Amsterdam heat of FameLab. FameLab is an international competition in science communication for young scientists. The heat was jointly organised by the science and medicine faculties of the UvA.

Three UvA chemists among first members of Advanced Research Center CBBC

Prof. Bas de Bruin, Prof. Joost Reek and Dr Moniek Tromp of the University of Amsterdam's Research Priority Area Sustainable Chemistry have been elected as members of the new ‘Advanced Research Center Chemical Building Blocks Consortium’ (ARC-CBBC). Just 39 out of 159 applicants were awarded a 5-year ARC-CBBC membership.

Tom Keijer wins poster competition at national student symposium

At the national chemistry student 'PAC symposium' held 2 March at Utrecht University, UvA master student Tom Keijer has won the first prize in the 'Young KNCV' poster competition. With his poster Keijer presented his research project at the Homogeneous, Supramolecular and Bio-inspired catalysis group (HOMKAT) of the Van ‘t Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS).

Dr. Raveendran Shiju holding catalyst

Emerging Investigator Award for chemist Shiju Raveendran

The International Conference on Nanostructured Materials and Nanocomposites (ICNM) has awarded an Emerging Investigator Award to associate professor Dr Shiju Raveendran of the University of Amsterdam's Van ‘t Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS). The award recognises scientists and engineers working in the field of nanoscience and technology.

Presentation of the prize to Sjoerd van der Wal

Lifetime achievement award for Sjoerd van der Wal

Sjoerd van der Wal, emeritus professor of Bioterials Analysis at the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences, has been awarded the second ever 'SCM Lifetime Achievement Award' for his outstanding achievements in separation science. The award was presented to him at the Eighth International Symposium on the Separation and Characterization of Natural and Synthetic Macromolecules.

Jarl Ivar van der Vlugt

Angewandte Chemie profiles Jarl Ivar van der Vlugt

The current issue of Angewandte Chemie, one of the top journals in the chemistry domain, contains a profile of Jarl Ivar van der Vlugt, assistant professor at the research group for Homogeneous, Supramolecular and Bio-Inspired Catalysis of the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS).

PAHs in space

NWO funding for research into fingerprints of interstellar molecules

Together with two new PhD students Dr Annemieke Petrignani and Prof. Wybren Jan Buma of the University of Amsterdam's Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS) will determine the 'fingerprints' of PAH molecules, and their formation and decomposition in space. The researchers of the HIMS theme 'Molecular Photonics' will receive funding by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research NWO as part of the Dutch Astrochemical Network (DAN) II.

Joost Reek, photo by Jan Willem Steenmeijer

Joost Reek appointed as distinguished research professor

Professor H.M. Buhrman and Professor J.N. H. Reek have been appointed as distinguished research professors at the Faculty of Science with effect from 1 January 2017. The professors will succeed the current distinguished research professors, Jos Engelen and Kareljan Schoutens.

Published by  HIMS

1 June 2017